Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Double Movement Debacle

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #16
    Originally posted by Johnny Brass View Post
    Nice to see Jackson Hastings having a good game, he has had some nice touches and I thought he might be able to return from England like Blake Green did and be a much better player.
    Hastings was very good. He is a natural talent for sure. Seems to have an innate sense of where the gaps are. If he’s matured off the field he will be a very good pick up for the tigers.

    Comment


    • #17
      Originally posted by Maxy Walker View Post

      Hastings was very good. He is a natural talent for sure. Seems to have an innate sense of where the gaps are. If he’s matured off the field he will be a very good pick up for the tigers.
      i dont think jackos problems were really on field, he was super arrogant off it . he upset friend and jwh , specifically , maybe others.

      i think similar happened at manly , it is a team game .

      Comment


      • #18
        Originally posted by zac View Post
        haven't seen the leilua try but lindsay's was a definite double movement
        I'd have to re-watch it but my live reading of it was that all he did was extend his elbow, allowing him to reach out and score.

        Things mighta changed but the 2019 rules I just pulled up through a web search say that:

        > In the process of scoring a try a player in possession must not promote the ball from the position the ball has been grounded.

        > If the momentum of the player in possession carries him into the opponents in goal area, it will not be a double movement if the ball would have finished over the goal line regardless of any subsequent movement of the ball or the arm carrying the ball.

        I don't think Collo propelled himself forward after the tackle.

        But meh... we won. I'm just gonna take the win and move on. I think the ref was shyte in many other ways (as was the bunker). Clearly this didn't impact the result. My issue is that when we're against the Riff or the Drizz and this happens, it'll be even harder for us to work our way into the game.
        Last edited by ism22; 04-19-2022, 09:06 AM.

        Comment


        • #19
          Originally posted by ism22 View Post

          I'd have to re-watch it but my live reading of it was that all he did was extend his elbow, allowing him to reach out and score.

          Things mighta changed but the 2019 rules I just pulled up through a web search say that:

          > In the process of scoring a try a player in possession must not promote the ball from the position the ball has been grounded.

          > If the momentum of the player in possession carries him into the opponents in goal area, it will not be a double movement if the ball would have finished over the goal line regardless of any subsequent movement of the ball or the arm carrying the ball.

          I don't think Collo propelled himself forward after the tackle.

          But meh... we won. I'm just gonna take the win and move on. I think the ref was shyte in many other ways (as was the bunker). Clearly this didn't impact the result. My issue is that when we're against the Riff or the Drizz and this happens, it'll be even harder for us to work our way into the game.
          Yes, Lindsay's head ended up over the line - so yes his body did slide over assuming the head is considered part of the body. He planted the ball down alongside his head without promoting it past his body.

          No beef from me about it being disallowed - it was a close call though, which was too subtle for some on here to appreciate.

          Comment


          • #20
            Originally posted by zac View Post
            haven't seen the leilua try but lindsay's was a definite double movement
            Yep and Leilua’s wasn’t.

            Of the the two brothers, the Tagpies have got the right one in the big L. Guys a beast.
            FVCK CANCER

            Comment


            • #21
              Originally posted by King Salvo View Post

              Momentum though that he ended up over the line
              Yep. Never promoted the arm carrying the ball.
              FVCK CANCER

              Comment

              Working...
              X