The decision that has me baffled is when Collins takes out grant running through but Grant is back in the line and can tackle but we kick and Momo was tackled illegally . Could have been a penalty try or a sin bin for a professional foul but bunker gave it penalty to storm.
Announcement
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Collins’ penalty
Collapse
X
-
I had no issues with this one, it’s a bitter pill to swallow because like you said it was either going to be a penalty try or sin bin but attacking players just can’t make contact with defenders.
Grant plays for it, just like he tried to play for penalties all night last night but Collins still needed to do better in that decoy run and either pull up or get through the line.
- 2 likes
Comment
-
Originally posted by doves07 View PostThey will always go to the first infringement, weather,grant would have got back in the line or not,anything else is pretty much irrelevant
Like I dunno. If I know the ref's already called a foul, can I just go punch somebody because the first foul is the one that counts? You're off your head! :P
- 1 like
Comment
-
Originally posted by ism22 View Post
I agree but to me it was a bit odd as there was a professional foul afterwards that otherwise woulda resulted in a sin-bin.
Like I dunno. If I know the ref's already called a foul, can I just go punch somebody because the first foul is the one that counts? You're off your head! :P
Comment
-
Why didn't Klein call it straight away? Why let the play go on? After Grant hits the deck the video ref says" the ball goes back to where Grant was...."- but its actually being passed to the left away from Grant. By the time the ball is switched back to the right, Grant is back on the line putting pressure on the kicker- so how was he impeded??? If Grant made the tackle it was 100% going to be play on
- 1 like
Comment
-
Originally posted by Random Rooster View PostWhy didn't Klein call it straight away? Why let the play go on? After Grant hits the deck the video ref says" the ball goes back to where Grant was...."- but its actually being passed to the left away from Grant. By the time the ball is switched back to the right, Grant is back on the line putting pressure on the kicker- so how was he impeded??? If Grant made the tackle it was 100% going to be play on
How much time must pass before it is no longer an impedement?
There will always be some grey area there..
BUT, and this is the big BUT, Grant was not obstructed from defending the continuing play that led to the try.
If we'd gone straight right, it was a fair penalty.
But it didn't. Collins wasn't within a bulls roar of Grant when the ball swung back, and Grant was clearly in the defensive line and had been for some time, totally unimpeded by anyone.
I wouldn't say it was a 'bad call' because the refs are going by the NRL's current hamfisted definition of an obstruction, which leaves no room whatsoever for common sense. It's awful rulemaking from the NRL, as simple as that.
- 2 likes
Comment
-
I always thought it was only a penalty if you took the advantage, I mean how many times now do you see a player run behind a team mate then just succumb so as not to take an advantage ...and the ref's seem ok with this and no penalty is awarded.
We didn't get any advantage because our player with the ball was tackled after Lindsay bumped Grant. But Grant was immediately and unexpectantly up on his feet (as he usually dives like he's been shot and plays for the penalty), but he was up to get involved in the play and was able to make a tackle straight away. So I dont see where we took an advantage of the interference ?
- 4 likes
Comment
-
Players need to learn to step away from contact after going through the line - similar to a sidestep. We had gotten a lot better at doing that. I thought Grant half made the decision to commit himself to Collins on first look but couldn't be sure.
- 1 like
Comment
-
Originally posted by Hawkeye View PostI always thought it was only a penalty if you took the advantage, I mean how many times now do you see a player run behind a team mate then just succumb so as not to take an advantage ...and the ref's seem ok with this and no penalty is awarded.
We didn't get any advantage because our player with the ball was tackled after Lindsay bumped Grant. But Grant was immediately and unexpectantly up on his feet (as he usually dives like he's been shot and plays for the penalty), but he was up to get involved in the play and was able to make a tackle straight away. So I dont see where we took an advantage of the interference ?
I get the idea that if you stick your arms up and succumb to a tackle then you are giving up the advantage you gained. However, I think this is an area of inconsistency because sometimes refs will say 'don't give a fark... rules are rules' and other times they'll say 'meh... doesn't matter'. Then OTHER times they'll say 'zero advantage gained... the game's moved on and the defending team's committed a sin-binnanble professional foul... let's just forget all that and go back to the penalty that woulda been ignored but for the professional foul!'
Comment
-
Originally posted by RoosterFanNZ View Postconfused me when he said "grant has the chance to defend again....penalty"
- 1 like
Comment
Comment